Olympic Certified

blog-3While I was in high school, I had the incredible opportunity to work with the Special Olympics. That was one of my most proudest times. I loved working with my kids so much. I taught Rhythmic Gymnastics to five little girls. We all had a very special bond by the end of the time we had together.

The girls were aged eight- to twelve-years-old. They were the people I looked forward to seeing at the end of the day. I was like a proud momma. I still miss them and wish I could help out more than I do. They did exhibitions at a lot of my gymnastics meets, so I did get to see them compete several times.  These girls had autism, but most of the time, I couldn’t even tell. They worked so hard and were so dedicated. They loved everyone. They learn in different ways, but I just had to learn how to teach them. Each is different and incredible in their own ways.

In the US, one in 66 children are born with or diagnosed with autism. In Japan, the rate is so much higher with 161 cases in every 10,000. That is an insane rate. Why is it so much higher there? Is it only genetic, or is there another underlying reason?

“Countries with the Highest Rates of Autism.” Worldatlas. N.p., n.d. Web. 5 Oct. 2016.

One thought on “Olympic Certified

  1. The special olympics are such a wonderful thing! I personally work with children on the autism spectrum and they are such a pleasure to be around. You are completely correct in saying that a lot of the time you cannot even tell that the children are on the spectrum. I learn something new and wonderful every day that I work with children on the autism spectrum.

    Like

Leave a Reply

