Daddy Issues

I was always one of those kids in elementary school without a father at home. All of my friends would talk about the fun things they were doing with their dads. I just sat there and counted the weekends until I saw mine again. Personally, my parents got divorced when I was three-years-old. That’s truly all I ever knew growing up. I didn’t realize how much different other people’s home lives were. I saw my dad every three weekends. That was the arrangement.

He would come and have to stay the night because I always had gymnastics practice on Saturday mornings. After that, then we would travel to his house in Rock Hill and that’s where we would spend the night. The next afternoon, we would be back on the road heading to my home town. Those were some long weekends. They were fun when I was little. That was the only time I got to see my father, so we made the most out of it.

I never realized how big of an impact on my life a father should have. Mine was around, but not like he should have been. He was there during his weekend, other than that, he was with his new families. Dads encourage their kids to do better, to be better than they were. I always vowed that I would be.

I always wanted to live in a two-parent home, but I am actually very proud of who I have become. I feel that I am stronger, more independent, and more realistic than many people I have met. Two-parent homes are becoming more and more scarce. Compared to many regions, the children in Asia and the Middle East are the most likely to live in a two-parent home (World Family Map 2014). Why is that? In the United States it isn’t even given a second thought when you say you are from a single-parent household.

I never knew what it was like to have a great relationship with my dad. Now, I wish I had. He passed away two weeks ago today and it’s still hard to comprehend. Daughters, and sons, will always love their dads no matter what. Fathers have such an impact on their kids whether they mean to or not. Even though mine wasn’t there every day, I always wished that he was. I will always treasure the memories that I do have with him, but I had to learn how to be independent in this hard world. My mom taught me everything that I know. I don’t know where I would be without her right now. Probably with 3 kids by the age of 21. I love my dad and I will truly miss him, especially now that he is gone.

“Family Structure.” World Family Map 2014. N.p., n.d. Web. 01 Nov. 2016.
One thought on “Daddy Issues

  1. It is such a sad reality that in today’s society that two parent homes are the abnormal set. I do agree that it forces the children to become more mature and independent faster and I can speak from experience in saying that you are a strong and independent women.

    Like

Leave a Reply

